“Oh darling, let’s be adventurers”.

In an apartment in New York City Dan saw these words printed on a canvas hanging on a wall and thought, “That’s what Kerry wants me to say to her”. It’s true.

For a while now I have been feeling like there is something more adventurous for us to be doing with our lives. These thoughts have come in seasons throughout our married life. The past season, the last 18 months or so, have been a bit of a roller coaster of emotions. The most significant being Dan’s Mum passing away unexpectedly. It has changed the way we view many things, certainly it changed the way many people view life, as she impacted so many people throughout her life.

One thing that has been pulled quite ferociously and passionately into the front of my mind is simply that life is short – so LIVE it. Part of this “living” for me is living a life of adventure. And so, after much thought, counsel and prayer, Dan and I have made the decision to move to New Zealand, at this stage for 12 months or so, to be a part of a Wesleyan church plant in Christchurch. A church called The Well, pastored by Clint and Jamie Ussher, is in its very first stages of being planted on the South Island. Dan and I, together with our children, Jackson and India, are going to support this ministry. (thewellnz.org)

Call me crazy, but I want to be pulled from what I find comfortable, I want to have my faith tested, I want to do something different and a little bit risky. A faith adventure. To simply trust in the Lord my God and take a bold step into the unknown – intent of being changed from the inside out.

I have been missing Helane (Dan’s Mum). I would love to sit down and talk with her about what we are doing, bounce things off her and have her share her insights and wisdom with me. I know her eyes would be shining talking to her about it. She was an adventurer. She liked to challenge herself and took opportunities (or made some happen) to have an adventure. I can almost hear her say, “Now’s a good time”.

I don’t have to do anything drastic to live an adventurous life. I can start by doing something I wouldn’t normally do, look outside of my world, touch someone else’s world, give a little more, love a little more. My adventure can start now. I need to stop thinking about all those things I’d love to do someday; get those friends around for dinner, make that vege garden, help someone out, get in shape, cook pancakes on the BBQ for breakfast in the park with the family, paint that picture, spend time with that person. Whatever it may be – now’s a good time. Life is short – so LIVE it!

There is an adventure to be had. One that will stretch us and force us to change.

“Oh darling, let’s be adventurers”.

One thought on ““Oh darling, let’s be adventurers”.

  1. I am so grateful for the adventures I had with Helane. I still think back on the number of times we almost said, “There’s other things I should be doing.” The ironing is still there, none of the students I had then care now that they didn’t get their work marked quicker, yet I have precious memories of times spent in adventure. We were all the better for it.

Leave a Reply

