Courage, Kindness and Love

I sang at a funeral earlier in the week. I did not know the lady who passed, but hearing about her and her life touched my heart. There was a poem that was read out during the service that has been floating in and out of my thoughts all week.

“Life is mostly froth and bubble,
Two things stand like stone,
KINDNESS in another’s trouble,
COURAGE in your own.”

Adam Linsday Gordon

This lady suffered greatly the last four years of her life until the disease she had finally took her life. She was only 41. She left behind a husband and three children. She was courageous in her troubles. From hearing about her life she was extremely kind to others going through their own troubles, even when she herself was so sick.

Courage. The word itself is a little scary to me. It means having a certain strength, that you perhaps aren’t aware you hold until you really need it. It’s a quality of mind or spirit that is of the highest as it enables a person to face hardships in their life, danger, pain…without fear.

Kindness. To me the word “sounds” so much easier compared to courage. Or does it? To show true kindness through another’s trouble is easy? That involves sacrifice, humanity, generosity, charity, sympathy, compassion, tenderness…love.

Love. I’m picturing in my mind a great big fountain that is gushing and bursting forth water. The water is unstoppable. You can’t plug it up. You get knocked over if you stand in the way. Love. The fountain on which I can draw from to find courage and kindness. Love. A man hanging on a cross. A man who was innocent willingly giving his own life so that I might live. This man, Jesus, being my ultimate fountain and the ultimate example of love. Love can make putting those words into action in your life a little bit easier.

I have been thinking of this lady and her family. Her children, as they wept for her at the funeral. Such loss. I was thinking about how hard it would be knowing that you are going to die and knowing you are going to leave your children without their mother, your husband without his wife. That takes certain courage to be able to be at peace as she was when she died. A peace that I know Jesus had so much to do with. I don’t know what life has around the corner for me and it is crazy for me to dwell on it and think of every possible circumstance. Showing kindness through others troubles and courage in my own. I can strive to do that in my life. It isn’t easy, but made easier with love.

Leave a Reply

